Sur La Table Ratings and Reviews
OXO
OXO
OXO
Red
Tea
Shop Now At Sur La Table
Shop Exclusive Gifts or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Sur La Table Microwave Popper

Sur La Table Microwave Popper

We love this simple popper for how easy it makes enjoying fresh and healthy popcorn. The innovative design requires no oil for cooking, and a unique lid drips melting butter onto your fresh corn as it pops. 2½ qt. Dishwasher safe. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
3.438 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
16 Reviews10 out of 16(62%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Microwave Popper
Review 1 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Features 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
swpdxgirl
from Sherwood, Oregon
Would You Recommend? Yes

Love!

DateOctober 15, 2012
Such a great alternative to prepackaged popcorn. I'm in agreement with the other reviews regarding timing. The only thing missing that would have been helpful were directions. Not sure if mine was simply missing them or not, but it was easy enough to figure out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Having2MuchFun
Would You Recommend? Yes

Fluffy and Low Fat Popcorn!

DateOctober 3, 2012
I love my new Popcorn Popper. I agree with other reviewers that you have to get your timing right. But once you do, yummy popcorn every single time.
After reading the comments about the handle, I am just careful not to bump it on anything and I don't pick it up by the handle. I use pot holders to take the popper out of the microwave.
You'll love it. Enjoy!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
PopcornLVR
Would You Recommend? Yes

Perfect Popcorn

DateJuly 12, 2012
I have had this popper for a few years now. I learned not to put butter on the top while popping but melt it afterwards in a separate ramekin. Most times I only wipe out the popper with a wet cloth. I have had no trouble with the handle. You need to watch the popper and turn off the microwave when popping slows down or you will burn it. This popper is a must if you love popcorn. It is way healthier than those popping bags and much cheaper.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Quality 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
16: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
heliumhand
Would You Recommend? Yes

LOVE IT

DateJuly 12, 2012
I asked for this for Christmas 2010 and didn't receive it. Asked for it again in 2011 and Santa came through. We eat a lot of popcorn and we love the product this makes. It takes a little time to get your timing good. I've found that the first batch doesn't cook as thoroughly as the second. Must be because the popper is warm. I add a small amount of butter to the lid. Fantastic popcorn! My only complaint is that the handle is fragile. I have a crack in my popper at the handle. I usually clean it in the dishwasher. That may be the problem. All in all, I LOVE this popcorn popper.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
16: Value 
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
16: Quality 
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
16: Features 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
popcornlover
from Stokesdale, NC
Would You Recommend? Yes

Nice popper

DateJune 5, 2012
I have had this popper for about a year and a half. It does a pretty good job of popping popcorn without chemicals. It does leave some unpopped kernels, but I have never experienced a popper, or bag of popcorn which did not. The person who sold this to me, recommended popping on 80% power, in order to prevent burning. The handle does feel like it might break at any moment, so I have been handling it carefully, and plan to return it, should this occur. It is very easy to clean.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Value 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Quality 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Features 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
phillyrose
Would You Recommend? No

Too Fragile

DateMarch 26, 2012
Product works well at popping corn. In spite of other reviews ours came out nice and fluffy--although you do have to experiment with amount to put in and the time. Big Issue: WHILE WASHING I must have torqued the handle and pop, off came the handle leaving a gaping glass hole in the product. At no time did it hit any part of the sink. This is a great idea, but way too fragile .
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Value 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Quality 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Features 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
Pops49
Would You Recommend? No

"handle" with care!

DateJanuary 21, 2012
The first time we used this popper, there was a nest of burnt popcorn in the middle, probably because we put the butter on the top at the beginning of the process. The next time, we didn't put the butter on until much later in the popping cycle. That was much better. Unfortunately, it is awkward to clean the grease out of it, so I filled it with hot soapy water and let it soak for a while, then I tried to move it in the sink by pulling the glass handle. It immediately broke off! Now there is a jagged hole in the side of the bowl and we can't use it at all, for fear of glass chipping off. Voila! It's broken.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Value 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Quality 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Features 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
Peeper11
from Portland, OR
Would You Recommend? No

Did not work

DateDecember 3, 2011
I tried this popper in two different microwaves, with and without oil, bought new popcorn (two brands) and the popcorn burned or popped half of it and made a mess. I really wanted this to work, but it doesn't. Very disappointed.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Features 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
LimaJuliet
from Illinois
Would You Recommend? Yes

Best Popper Ever

DateNovember 17, 2011
I love popcorn and this is the best popper I've ever owned. The popcorn is light fluffy and very flavorful. You don't even need the butter. But it's always better with butter.
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Value 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Quality 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Features 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
SanFranciscoGeorge
from San Francisco, CA
Would You Recommend? No

Save your money!!!!

DateNovember 5, 2011
User submitted photo
The popcorn this produces is tough and chewy, so if that is what you like, then buy this device. But if you like light, airy popcorn do this - In a paper bag place 1/4 cup popcorn, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon of peanut oil. Cook in microwave for about two minutes. And if you think I'm nuts, I dare you to pop some corn both ways. You'll instantly realize the popcorn from this device, or even cooked in a pot on a stove, is tough and chewy in comparison.
+77points
79out of 81found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
16: Value 
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
16: Quality 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
16: Features 
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
AlexisMH
Would You Recommend? No

Not So Great

DateOctober 9, 2011
This looked like it would work for me, but like another buyer, I found that the popcorn kernels popped unevenly (new popcorn, too!) and some burned. It made a mess of the microwave. I think a brown paper bag (suggested by Alton Brown) would work better.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
16: Value 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
16: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Katie13
Would You Recommend? Yes

Great popper!

DateOctober 3, 2011
I bought this to get away from popcorn bags with artificial flavorings and chemicals. The popper works really well, and is very simple to use. Another bonus: you and the kids can watch the popcorn pop in the microwave!
My only complaint is that it would be helpful to have a "fill line" (the instructions just say "cover the bottom"--which to me is vague), because if you overfill, it doesn't all pop and the popcorn gets jammed in and is hard to get out.
The final product is delicious. I always melt butter in a separate bowl so I just wipe out the popper, instead of trying to degrease it (it is an awkward opening to work with to clean).
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
wolfgirl
from Bellevue, Wa
Would You Recommend? Yes

Great Popper!!!

DateAugust 23, 2011
I have had this popper for 10 months now, and I use it several times a month. I have used 4 or 5 different kinds of popcorn in it. I can say with confidence that this is a great popcorn popper. You do have to use quality corn (white works best in my microwave) in it, and you do have to determine the right amount of time for your microwave. I have never tried putting butter on the top to melt into the popping corn, so I cannot speak to that. I always have amazing popcorn from this popper, and I highly recommend it. I will even be giving one as a gift later this month. If you are looking for something that is as effective as a hot air popper but takes up less space, you have found it. If you are looking for something that doesn't require the oil that stove top popping does, you have found it. If you are looking for something that doesn't create all the waste of pre-packaged microwave popcorn, or contain all the artificial colors and flavors, you have found it.
So buy it!
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Value 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Quality 
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
16: Features 
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
Atina
from WI
Would You Recommend? No

Burnt popcorn

DateJuly 27, 2011
The first time I tried this popper, I added the butter in the lid. About half the kernels popped right away, but the others were soaked in the butter and didnt pop until the others were burned.
I tried it a second time without the butter, and still some of the kernels burned.
It also requires a microwave with a high opening - won't work with just any microwave.
I'm very disappointed in this popper.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Kimber
from Oakland, CA
Would You Recommend? Yes

AMAZING!!!

DateJune 30, 2011
I saw this advertised during the Christmas holidays...searched everywhere for it...SOLD OUT!
I was determined to find it and did in the Carmel CA store. Took it home, popped some corn and could not have been happier w/it. It's the best popcorn I have ever had. Myself and entire family included are popcorn lovers. I searched and searched and bought 5 for friends and family members. It's easy to clean, fun to use, pops 99% of the kernels and if you like to use butter it melts beautifully right down on the popcorn. If you love popcorn, this is for you!
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Microwave Popper
16: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
16: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
KDubb
from Ft. Benning, GA
Would You Recommend? Yes

What a deal!

DateJanuary 17, 2011
My husband loves popcorn and hates microwave popcorn. He also doesn't like the mess of the old stovetop technique. I bought this as a novelty Christmas gift, assuming it would soon go the way of all the other poppers (which turned out to be poopers). Instead, it has turned out to be The One! It's unbelievably easy to clean, pops nearly all of the kernels, and it's not too large to fit into his microwave on post (he's currently on active duty stateside). It's a keeper!
+62points
66out of 70found this review helpful.