Sur La Table Ratings and Reviews
OXO
OXO
OXO
Red
Tea
Shop Now At Sur La Table
Shop Pizza or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for The Petite Pizzeria

The Petite Pizzeria

Our buyers were so impressed with this mini-oven when they discovered it—and we’re sure you will be, too. Ideal for either fresh or frozen pizza crusts, this innovative countertop pizza oven heats to over 600°F quickly and cooks a perfectly crisp pizza in as few as five minutes.

Bake a crispy, 12" crust as thin as you’d like on the ceramic pizza stone, or use the nonstick deep-dish pizza pan for your favorite Chicago-style pizzas. You can also transport and serve your pizzas like a pro with the included paddles.

Features dual W-shaped heating elements and convenient heat-control dial. Compact size for easy storage.

  • Manufacturer: NewWave
  • Material: Ceramic, nonstick coating and metal
  • Care: Hand wash ceramic stone and nonstick pizza pan; wipe oven body clean with dry cloth. Avoid using soap when washing ceramic stone
  • Includes: Pizza oven, ceramic pizza stone, nonstick deep-dish pizza pan and wooden paddles
  • Dimensions: 6" product height; 12" cooking-surface diameter
  • Wattage: 1200 watts
  • Made in China
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 Reviews21 out of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Petite Pizzeria
Review 1 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
24: Features 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
Cookinggreen
Would You Recommend? Yes

Great pizza!

DateJune 14, 2014
Bought this as an impulse when I got the sale email. The reviews looked good so thought I would give it a chance. Wow! It exceeded expectations! I did follow advice from other reviewers and made sure the dough was floured as well as the stone but watch how much you get on the stone because it will burn if there is too much. Perfect pizza in 4 to 5 minutes! At first I felt it was a little small but it makes perfect personal pizzas so no more fighting over toppings. Paddles did warp when cleaned, that is only complaint. Plan on buying a different one anyways. I put them under my heavy butchers block to flatten back out while still wet and they are fine again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Features 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
CookinKC
from Overland Park, KS
Would You Recommend? Yes

Best appliance in my kitchen

DateMarch 17, 2014
I bought this because i love pizza but hate to heat up the oven only to cook something for less than 10 minutes. It's not the largest surface but since a pizza takes less than 4 minutes to cook in this for thin crust, we can easily make personal pizzas for everyone. This works particularly well for thin crust/cracker crust St. Louis style pizza. Getting the crust crispy is hard to do in the oven and it's easy with this pizza maker. I've used it four months and have had no problems.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Features 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
ItalianAfficianado
from North Carolina
Would You Recommend? Yes

Fantastic purchase - so pleased!

DateJanuary 10, 2014
I bought this for my husband as a Hanukkah gift in November, and we have been thrilled with it. I lived in Italy for a while, and this is far and away the tool that makes the closest thing to real Italian pizza. It took some experimentation to find the right thickness for the pizza to come out as we wanted it, but boy, now that we've figured it out, this thing makes some really good pizza!! I will say I find it awkward to assemble the pizza on the paddles and get it to drop cleanly onto the stone, but I'm going to play around with that to see what can be done to make that go a little more smoothly. Overall, though, we are thrilled with this item!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Hutch
from Upper Arlington, OH
Would You Recommend? Yes

Amazed!

DateJanuary 6, 2014
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We have used this oven twice since Christmas, with fantastic results both times! Warmed up the oven on 2, then turned it down to 1.5 for about 15-20 minutes. We did turn it up to 2 at the end for a little browning on the cheese.
We normally ordered pizza once a week with about $25 out of pocket after tipping the driver, so this oven will have a payback after two more uses - not to mention we know the ingredients are fresh!
Both attempts were made using pre-made crusts, 8oz of sauce, and moderate toppings. Looking forward to experimenting with new recipes!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
24: Features 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
jackandsamsmimi
from Florida
Would You Recommend? Yes

Love this oven!! Merci, Sur La Table!

DateJanuary 4, 2014
We love Pizza, and make it often, in our oven and on the grill, so when I saw this oven on line as the deal of the day, I was going back and forth with the decision as to whether or not we really needed it. After reading the reviews, I decided to give it a try, as often, even with a pizza stone at least in my experience, the results in my oven or grill, can be inconsistent. So happy I purchased it. Initially, when it was shipped it did not have the deep dish pan in the package, and so I had to go to the Sur La Table store an hour away to retrieve, what must have been, at the time, the last Pizzaria, in Florida! I was glad that I did, as they were wonderful people there, and made it totally worth my while! Meanwhile we have used it several times. I have to agree with another reviewer, that I was not sure which side of the stone should be facing up. I discovered I was using it wrong, however the pizzas I made still were wonderful/ perfectly crisp on the bottom, and melted to perfection on the top. I did find the paddles do warp, and we did not get them overly wet, just wiped them down, but we do have a pizza peel, (another great find at Sur La Table) that we use anyway. I found that if you place the lightly floured dough directly on the stone and add the toppings, then put the lid down, it will still be perfect and you don't need to worry about it being messy. We have made about 16 pizzas so far, including the basic, that most of us know but we also have done fig, proscuitto, and gorgonzola, barbeque chicken pizza, white pizza with swiss chard, and goat cheese, and some gluten free tries. Odi's gluten free got the best vote for the base. I have made the dough, for those of us with no gluten issues, and also purchased dough from a local Italian market. All results were amazing! The only criticism, which is important, is the oven is very very hot. Not an item to have grandkids standing nearby and hovering. It could burn someone especially a child very easily. The steam is HOT. I burned my wrist upon opening it, and so be very careful. It is a pizza oven after all, and is 600-750 degrees. Otherwise, we love it ! Not as large on the counter as some of the competitors, and yet still easy to find a place to store it as we don't like a lot of "things" on our counter tops. My husband was initially annoyed with this purchase as we do have a number of "gadgets" as we love to cook and we have frequent guests/gatherings. Yet he admits, he loves it! Highly recommended, but please use caution with the heat that is produced, and wear mitts that go up over wrists, and lower arms. And keep your face away, as wonderful as that pizza smells, don't put your face close to the oven! I have not used the deep dish pan yet, but look forward to trying it for calzones, or other creative items. Merci! Sur La Table!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DKMandC
Saratoga, CA
Very happy with purchase.
Posted May 21, 2014
We love making pizza but it's too darn hot in the summer. Decided to try this out and glad we did. It is true that the paddles warp easily. I used a damp cloth to wipe and let them dry under some soda 12-pack containers for a few days. Not sure how long they will last. We actually prepare our pizzas on parchment paper cut just slightly larger that the cooking surface and place that directly onto the stone (using the paddles). After 2 minutes, the paper can easily be pulled out from under the pizza. It makes for easy transfer to the oven and no need for extra flour, etc. One recipe of Bobby Flay's pizza dough can make 8 single serve thin crust pizzas. Really happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
buonpizza
Would You Recommend? Yes

Looks nice but .....

DateDecember 25, 2013
It looks like a nice pizza oven. I can't use it since it arrived as a Christmas gift without instructions. My son was looking forward to using his new pizza oven today for lunch.
-29points
0out of 29found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
samplat
Posted December 27, 2013
Same thing happened to us. Did you find any online?
-1point
0out of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Disappointed2
Chicago
No instructions
Posted December 27, 2013
I received for Christmas, opened today to unpack and use later! no instructions. Disappointing to say the least!
-1point
0out of 1found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
FlourChild
from NYS
Would You Recommend? No

Wonderful!

DateDecember 22, 2013
I just cannot say enough about this pizza oven. We just love it. It really makes pizza to rival anything we have ever had anywhere. Keep Jim Lahey's recipe for pizza dough in the refrigerator, and you can have dinner on the table in 15 minutes. It's one of the best purchases we've ever made.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
24: Value 
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
24: Quality 
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
24: Features 
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
Kaydee
from Mountain View, CA
Would You Recommend? No

Bought this based upon the great reviews.

DateDecember 15, 2013
Paddles warped immediately upon a quick cleaning. Instructions do not indicate which side the round stone should sit on the bottom burner & there is a right/wrong side. While I'm a novice baker of sorts, I'm not happy w/the quality/price point. I'm on attempt #2 which failed w/a very burnt crust on the bottom & no browning on the top. One more attempt to make sure operator malfunction isn't the case..if there is no success, then this unit goes back. Boo.
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gsmith
Logan square, Chicago
Product does not preform well
Posted December 19, 2013
I had a similar experience as above. The quality of the materials was fine it just didn't work well. I tried several pizzas from thick to thin-it burns the bottom and under cooks the top. It going back to the store.
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
JanetinKy
from Versailles, KY
Would You Recommend? Yes

We love it!

DateDecember 15, 2013
We make pizza once a week. We typically make it on the Big Green Egg, but with cold winter weather this is a great alternative. We are impressed with how good the pizzas are.
We use corn meal on the wooden peel and the pizzas slide right off and do not stick.
Was equally impressed with how fast we received this. From order entry till delivery was approximately 20 hrs.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
ChefCherryl
from Indiana
Would You Recommend? Yes

Love this Pizza !

DateDecember 14, 2013
....so I just made my first pizza tonight. I purchased 4 of these as gifts (including myself) for Christmas, and had to try it out in case it didn't meet my expectations. Although I have only used it once, both of us gave it 5 stars. I read all the reviews before ordering the pizzeria, and was impressed. I made the dough in my bread machine tonight, and the pizza was perfect. The peel was easy to use. It is thin, but thick is not necessary. I would keep small children away from the pizzeria, but that's just a normal precaution. Next time, I will make a full batch of pizza dough and make 2 pizzas for a thinner crust. As it was, one pizza was perfect for a quick dinner for 2 people.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
24: Value 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
24: Quality 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
24: Features 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
CookingMonster
from Seattle, WA
Would You Recommend? Yes

Best homemade pizza

DateNovember 29, 2013
The only thing stopping me from giving 5 stars on this really wonderful pizza oven is the (relative) difficulty of getting the pizza ON the stone. However, we found that if you create your pizza crust and get it ready before adding ANY toppings, it's easier to slide onto the stone (flour liberally on the bottom) and THEN assemble the toppings. It makes PERFECT pizza then!
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Cook4Fun2
from Houston, TX
Would You Recommend? Yes

Fun In The Kitchen

DateNovember 2, 2013
I received The Petite Pizzeria as a gift and was pleasantly surprised because I had not seen anything like it before. The ease of use and speed of cooking are the greatest advantages in my fast paced life. I used the pre-made frozen (thawed of course) pizza dough balls from HEB. Central Market and Whole Foods carry similar fresh/frozen pizza dough balls. Each ball is the perfect size for making two pizzas….dinner and dessert! Highly recommend the Nutella-Bananna dessert pizza! My grandson is a bit young yet to be cooking, but when he’s old enough, he’ll be right beside me making his own pizza! A great fun, quick and delicious way to encourage young people to get in the kitchen! Highly recommend this product!
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
PizzaFanatic123
Would You Recommend? Yes

Great Pizza Maker

DateOctober 31, 2013
From a self confessed pizza fanatic, I was hoping this Petite Pizzaria pizza maker would live up to its hype. And boy was I happy it did!! The pizza was crispy on the bottom, and bubbly on the top. I could not believe how fast it cooked!! I would make sure though to flour the dough really well since mine got a bit sticky, but other than that it was the easiest dinner I've ever made! I live in NYC and the pizza that came out rivals some of the great New York pies :) Highly recommend to everyone!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
ChefgirlNJ
from Old Bridge, NJ
Would You Recommend? Yes

GOOD FOR EVERY MEAL!

DateOctober 29, 2013
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I absolutely love my Pizza Maker. During football season I always have friends over for apps and drinks. When I stumbled upon the Pizza Maker, I thought it would be a great addition to my kitchen. A fun way to make fast finger foods. The first day I opened the box I made four different pizzas for my friends. I bought some dough from my local pizzeria and some frozen dough that we let defrost. They both ended up turning out great. We made traditional pizzas with sauce and cheese, bacon, onions and mushrooms, the list goes on. The second day I had the pizza maker, I made an Omelet pizza in the morning. I put the crust on the deep dish pan, closed the lid for about 1 minute and then poured 4 beaten eggs with spinach onions and broccoli mixed in. Closed the lid and cooked until the eggs were done. IT WAS AMAZING! The appliance gets hot enough to prepare almost anything (be careful). I also made Mini Eggplant Parm appetizers, omelets, and egg frittatas. Everything cooks evenly, and most importantly, it's fast. Needless to say, the pizza maker is used frequently in my house now. In the mornings I now make frittatas and omelets (with no crust) in the deep dish pan. Its so convenient in the mornings, fast and a very easy clean up. Nothing sticks, its quick, and my dishes look very presentable. I love serving huge omelets to my friends and family when they come to visit, and everyone is always impressed.
Before using the pizza maker I used a regular pizza stone. The new apartment I moved into does not have a broiler that works well, so the top of my pizzas did not brown nicely. On top of that, the stone is not easy to handle, picking it up and down is a pain, so making multiple pizzas one after another was not always convenient. The pizza maker has little handles; simply pick the stone up and down and slide the pizzas off. I LOVE the deep dish. I've made a stuffed pizza with the traditional toppings, and a quiche like dish as well. I love the versatility. I highly recommend this product.
+45points
52out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Petite Pizzeria
24: Overall rating 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Value 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
24: Quality 
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
24: Features 
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
ClosetChef
from Seattle, WA
  • Staff
Would You Recommend? Yes

Pleasant surprise

DateOctober 24, 2013
The quest for the perfect crust has come to an end! This little machine cooks up a perfect crust every time. It takes a few tries to learn the technique to get the pizza onto the stone with complete accuracy but the effort pays off. It only takes five minutes to cook up our favorite pizzas which means everyone can have their favorite on pizza night,
+6points
6out of